BillP Studios has released version 33.1 of WinPatrol. In this program, ‘Scotty, the Windows watchdog’ keeps an eye on the system, making it work faster and more stable. WinPatrol detects and stops spy, ad and malware attacks, viruses and malicious Internet Explorer add-ons, while also preventing home page hijacks. A few other things are also monitored, including the processes running on the PC, the hosts file, file extensions, and whether a program or process is added to the start-up list. In addition to the free version, there is also a paid one Plus variant, which provides access to a database with extensive information about programs and processes, which states, for example, whether they are safe or malicious. The release notes for this release are as follows:
What’s new in this release
- Improved History processing now includes history of any items restored. For example, when a file is removed from the Startup tab it displays “START_Remove”. If the file is restored, an entry is added “START_Restored” to give confirmation and so you can track what has been done.
- Fixed bug in History Restore functionality that cause restore to fail on many occasions.
- Improved automatic clean-up and removal of files no longer on your computer from the WinPatrol database.
- Updated alert processing to help eliminate repeat alerts.
- Added code so that users of BitDefender 2015 should be able to use AutoPilot without receiving repeated alerts.
- Fixed upgrade bug that results in two versions of WinPatrol running for some customers.
- Added “First Detected” column to the Delayed Start Tab.
- Added “Status” column to the Startup Programs Tab. Currently we do not recognize when 64-bit programs are running, we will have a full 64-bit version of WinPatrol available later this year.
- Program description now displays in WinPatrol Explorer footer when highlighting a program.
- Fixed sorting by date columns.
- Fixed a bug Registry Monitoring that resulted in some keys not being monitored as they should have been.
- Added note to Cookies tab that recommends closing any open browsers prior to editing cookies. We also added improved processing to handle if a browser is open so that you do not lose your changes. But we still recommend closing a browser before editing it’s associated cookies because the major browsers all keep a cache of their cookies and will automatically restore anything they have not themselves removed.
|Operating systems||Windows 7, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 8, Windows 10|