WhatsApp: we will not close any functions if we refuse new conditions

WhatsApp will not limit functions to users who do not accept the new conditions for a longer period of time. The company wanted to convince everyone in this way, but has decided against it. According to the Facebook subsidiary, most of the users have already agreed.

WhatsApp tells The Verge that it wants to make it clear that the restrictions have been removed ‘following recent discussions with various authorities and privacy experts’. The messenger company will sail this new course ‘indefinitely’. The policy page on this has also been updated.

WhatsApp ‘s plan was to sooner or later deny users who do not accept the ability to read and send messages; they would then only be able to read notifications and make calls. Subsequently, notifications, messages and calls are also completely disabled. “Also keep in mind that the separate inactive user policy will then apply,” WhatsApp said further. This generally includes deletion of an account after 120 days of inactivity.

In early January, WhatsApp announced that users had to agree to the new privacy terms . It focuses on how WhatsApp shares data with Facebook. The conditions include how WhatsApp stores and uses transaction data for payment services, such as Facebook Pay in WhatsApp. And how data shared in conversations with companies on WhatsApp can end up with Facebook, if companies use a link from WhatsApp for Business with other Facebook services.

Within the EU, however, Facebook is not allowed to use data from European WhatsApp users, which means that almost nothing changes to the terms of use for European users.

Comments
Loading...