The Brave browser gets the feature to automatically clear cookies and other first-party site data when users close the website. The capability will be added to version 1.53 of the desktop browser, and version 1.54 of Brave’s Android app.
It’s alright according to Brave both ‘explicitly stored’ data, such as cookies, LocalStorage and IndexedDB, and ‘indirectly stored’ data, such as the http and dns cache. Users can set whether they want the cookies and other data to be automatically deleted for all sites, or only for certain sites. The so-called Forgetful Browsing function ensures, among other things, that users are automatically logged out, that they are not recognized again on a subsequent visit and that the maximum number of articles that users are allowed to read before encountering a paywall is reset.
To activate the feature for a single site, users must click the shield icon in the browser and navigate to the advanced settings, where they can check the option. To set up the feature for all sites, they need to go to the global Brave settings and find the option under “Shields.”
Brave states that many web browsers already offer protection for third-party tracking, but that there is often no good protection for unwanted first-party tracking. According to the company, this feature is also “more powerful” and protects better than similar browser extensions, such as Forget Me Not or Cookie Autodeletebecause such extensions are “limited in their ability to clear cached data or nested documents.”